Day 23. Tree Branch Bird

23 Jan

Image

Today’s bird-a-day art was inspired by the rows of bare trees along the winter horizon. I find the winter treescapes beautiful. This was a really fun one to make. For starters I got to stroll around my local park and collect fallen tree branches as parents looked on as if I was going to start a bone fire in the park. I got to use some power tools to trim, cut branches and then drill holes in a 4×4 base. I even had the opportunity to paint! Today’s bird has a lot going on, so it was good that I had most of Sunday to work on it. Because of all the stages and pieces it took me a lot more time than any art that I have made so far. And if you are wondering, yes I did paint both sides of each branch.

TODAY IS MONDAY, so please vote for your favorite bird art of the past week. Thanks.

12 Responses to “Day 23. Tree Branch Bird”

  1. car4fun February 10, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    definitely!!!! :)

  2. mkdickerson February 10, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    Glad you liked the Tree Branch Bird. It took a while longer to make but it was worth it.

  3. car4fun February 10, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    I love your birds! They are amazing!!!! ;)

  4. mkdickerson January 27, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    Another movie lover. It was fun to work on this one since I could snack a little as I made the bird.

  5. Zīle January 27, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    this one is my favorite! :) thanks!

  6. mkdickerson January 23, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

    Cake?? That’s a good bird idea. Thanks Patti.

  7. Patti January 23, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    The tree branch takes the cake. (oh there’s another possibility)

  8. mkdickerson January 23, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    That’s right. I have another variation with different materials that I might get around to making some day.

  9. Gary Dickerson January 23, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    I like this one a lot. I can imagine all types fun variations.

  10. mkdickerson January 23, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    Thanks Melissa. I like DEFINITE. You should see the mess I made while making this it. Ouch.

  11. Melissa January 23, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    Tree branch bird is def. my favorite of the week

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY projects with branches - A&D Blog - January 2, 2014

    […] image source and instructions via mkdickerson.com […]

Tell me what you think.

