Day 76, Aluminum Light Wire Bird

16 Mar

Image

Today’s bird art was a happy accident. I was testing out a fun idea of block printing on aluminum instead of paper and just stumbled into today’s Bird-A-Day art. My first surprise was how much I liked the look of printing on a sheet of aluminum. But then when I laid the plate down on the floor in my studio, the lights hit the metal surface and created these beautiful wires of light. I know a gift horse when he walks up and offers me a ride. So I immediately photographed my accidental art to capture my block printed birds, sitting on a wire of light. I only hope that I can keep stumbling into more fun like this. Enjoy.

17 Responses to “Day 76, Aluminum Light Wire Bird”

  1. life insurance April 23, 2015 at 12:11 pm #

    That’s a smart way of looking at the world.

  2. mkdickerson April 3, 2013 at 10:25 am #

    Beautiful photo. That is exactly what inspired many of my birds on wire art.

  3. Sandy White March 18, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    I like!

  4. mkdickerson March 18, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    I feel that it’s important to do this for myself. I have to be happy. And like you say, if someone else like its, then that’s great.

  5. emjayzed March 18, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    That’s awesome! I love it when I like what I do – it’s a total bonus if someone else likes it too!

  6. mkdickerson March 17, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

    Thanks!

  7. Sukanya Ramanujan March 17, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    Excellent!

  8. mkdickerson March 17, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    That’s so nice of you to say. It’s nearly impossible for me to have a favorite. Each one has something I like in it.

  9. emjayzed March 16, 2012 at 11:57 pm #

    Although, I’m also very fond of No. 66 – Newspaper Birds. Hard to decide, I actually love them all!

  10. mkdickerson March 16, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    Wow!!!!
    Thank you.

  11. mkdickerson March 16, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    It’s not the idea but what you make with it that matters. Have fun my friend.

  12. thelinoprinter March 16, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    This looks really beautiful. I might have to steal that idea!

  13. emjayzed March 16, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    This is my favorite so far!

  14. mkdickerson March 16, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    I felt the same way. Thanks Jane.

  15. Jane March 16, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    Super Cool Marc!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Excuses, Excuses, Excuses - April 1, 2013

    […] It was kinda freaky – an unseasonal storm was rolling in and there was that strange calm in the air.  The birds all eerily congregated on the one section of power lines.  At one point in time there seemed to be millions of birds but some vanished by the time I took the shot.  The end result reminds me of MKD’s Aluminium Light Wire Birds. […]

  2. Excuses, Excuses, Excuses « Art Gluttony - March 26, 2012

    […] It was kinda freaky – an unseasonal storm was rolling in and there was that strange calm in the air.  The birds all eerily congregated on the one section of power lines.  At one point in time there seemed to be millions of birds but some vanished by the time I took the shot.  The end result reminds me of MKD’s Aluminium Light Wire Birds. […]

Tell me what you think.

