Day 127. Student Chair Bird

5 May

Image

Today’s Bird-A-Day art was inspired by TCU professor of art and Coordinator of MFA program, Jim Woodson. He has taught painting at TCU since 1974. Inspired generations of artists and made life-long friendships with everyone of them. Last night, my wife Allie and I were guest at his retirement party. It was a sweet and sad occasion. Seeing his home filled to over-flowing with friends and admirers from his iconic career at TCU. He is without a doubt, the kindest man I have ever met. He inspires everyone around him, without saying a word. He is irreplaceable. Jim Woodson is beyond a great, master painter, he is a man who forever changed the lives of thousands of artists. I know that he has changed the life of my wife, Allie Regan Dickerson, who as her mentor and teacher has elevated her art to new heights. And like many thousands of others whose life he has touched, I am forever thankful.

Tell me what you think.