Day 345. Rusting Scratch Bird

10 Dec

Rusting-Scratch-Bird

This square sheet of steel has sat outside in my yard for several months. I wanted to let mother nature create the foundation for my bird painting. It was a nice surprise to find rusty leaf shapes on my metal canvas. This time, I wanted to experiment with scratching into the metal to form my bird. After painting my burnished bird shape I found the solid white was too sterile.  So I decided to scratch into my painted bird with different materials. It was a real treat collaborating with nature on this one. Enjoy.

3 Responses to “Day 345. Rusting Scratch Bird”

  1. cheap insurance April 23, 2015 at 11:37 am #

    You know what, I’m very much inclined to agree.

  2. mkdickerson December 10, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    You make a very good point. Scratching on the metal was not the most melodic sound. :-) And what happens next year….????

  3. kasturika December 10, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    I hope your ears are ok… I get the feeling this bird’s chirps aren’t really very musical.

    Your posts are very inspiring. Now that there is less than a month left, I am wondering what will happen once the birds are gone…

Tell me what you think.

