Rock Sketch Bird

13 Feb

Rock-Sketch-Bird

It has been several weeks since I have posted anything. Too long.  And I have been feeling the need to sketch. But not on paper. And not with pen or pencil.

Last night while taking out the trash, I stumbled upon this white rock on our driveway. A decorative rock that apparently ran away from home. Well, it inspired me to try something that I used to do when I was just a kid. Use a rock as chalk. Rock chalk. And now this is when you might expect a sob story about growing up poor. Something like – We were so poor – that when I was growing up, we couldn’t even afford chalk to graffiti the streets like other kids. We were so poor we had to use rocks. That would be a funny story, but not at all true. While we were poorish, my mom always made sure that I had plenty of paper and something to draw with. Drawing was a trick my mother used to keep me quite and out of trouble. I guess that I am lucky there weren’t iPads or video games when I was a growing up.

2 Responses to “Rock Sketch Bird”

  1. mkdickerson February 13, 2013 at 11:24 am #

    Thank you so much.

  2. parametricmary February 13, 2013 at 11:14 am #

    Excellent blog.

Tell me what you think.

